Various Football & Rugby Teams

Please email me if you can you add missing names, name photo then row then number.


Portadown Rovers FC 1928

Back Row L to R;  1__________, James Sterritt, 3________, 4__________

3rd Row Standing;  John Major. 2________, 3__________, Davy Uprichard, 5___________,

Wm. A. Mullen,  7__________, Dan Forbes, 9_________

2nd Row Seated;  1________, 2__________, 3_________, 4__________, 5_________, 6_______

1st Row on ground:  1_______, 2_________,

Portadown Technical School FC 1944

Back Row L to R;  A. Martin, Jimmy McCann, 3________, T. Walker, 5_________, J. Pickering, Mr. William Jamison

Front Row seated;  Robert Fox, Ronnie Baxter, Jim Sterritt, Hamill, R. McFall, Marshall Carragher Jnr.

Front on floor;  B. Twinem, E. Ruddell.

Clonavon Boys Club
Under 18 years 1946-47

Back row L to R; Freddie Neil, Ronnie Upritchard, Norman Best, Harry Wright, Jim Pickering, John Baxter, Harry Cooke, Joe Power.
Fromt Row; Dickie Scott, Roy Cartmill, Jimmy McCann (Leader), Ronnie Baxter, Jim Steritt, Lynn Burrows



Unknown Portadown Team About 1940?

Back row standing L to R: 1__________?, Joe Benson, 3________?, 4________?, 5_________?, 6________?, 7________? 8________?, 9________? 10________?, Leslie Hunniford.

Front Row seated:  Joey Corkin, Jim McNally, 3________?, 4________, 5________?, 6________?.

October 2012  From the Official website of Glentoran Football Club

Probably Glentoran's oldest surviving player, Bertie Wright today celebrated his 93rd birthday. Bertie, who lives in Laurelvale near Portadown, joined the Glens in the 1941-42 season and who, until his departure at the end of 1948-49, played 214 games for the club. Although he filled what would have been considered a defensive position, Bertie scored 47 goals, twice finishing as the club’s second highest scorer (seasons 42-43 and 44-45 both times with 13 goals). Wright won two trophies with the Glens, the Co Antrim Shield and the All-Ireland Cup, both in the 1943-44 season. He also played for Glentoran in four Irish Cup finals, but lost them all.

Bertie Wright also represented the Irish League on 5 occasions; three times against England and once against both Scotland and the League of Ireland. He scored one goal for the Irish League against the English League at Goodison Park in 1947, a penalty which he took and sent Frank Swift (Manchester City) the wrong way.

As someone who made over 200 appearances for Glentoran, Bertie never played for us at the Oval. He joined the club after the Oval had been bombed by the Germans in 1941 and had moved on by the time we returned in 1949.

Many Happy Returns Bertie.
Photo shows Bertie being presented with a photograph taken on our 130th anniversary by Norman Reid in the 1923 club rooms at the Oval last Saturday.

This was the bulk of the team that beat Linfield in the final of the Gold Cup, Frank Mennie scoring the winning goal in a 2-1 victory.

Back Row: from left, Tommy Anderson, -McConnell, Tommy Docherty, Sean McCann, Jimmy Buchanan, Tommy Andrews, Frank Mennie.

Front Row: Unknown, Don Weir (who died in a mining accident in Scotland), Waggy Ross, Alec Boyd, one of the club's best ever players, and Davy Higgins.

                                                  Photo loaned by David Armstrong

McDonaghs Winners of the Fulton Cup 1948

Back Row;  Leslie Hunniford - J. Benson - W. McCartney.

Third Row Standing:  Jim Allister - R. Fleming - J. McGrath - J. Daly - Jim McNally - S. Venard.

Second Row Seated:  Dawson Jeffers - Joe Best - T.W. McDonagh - W. Jones - William McDonagh - Eddie Vennard - Billy Dobbin.

In Front:  Ronnie Lyske - Jimmy McBroom.


Back Row: J. Benson - Jim Allister - Leslie Hunniford - R. Fleming.

Centre Row:  Bobby Millsopp - R. Fox - S. Venard - Jim McNally - J. McGrath - S. Marshall - W. McClatchey.

Front Row:  Joe Best - W. Jones - Jim McBroom - William McDonagh - Eddie Venard, Thomas McDonagh - Ronnie Lyske - Billy Dobbin - Dawson Jeffers.

Coronation Blues 1953

Back Row L to R:  Vincent Devlin, Bob Webb, Bobby Haire, Pecky Grimes, Billy Pauley.

Front Row:  Paddy Murrray, George Laverty, Vincent Murray, Raymond McConnell, Jackie Hobson, Ronnie Love

Photo loaned by George Laverty.

Marlborough Utd. FC. 

Winners of the Mid-Ulster league in 1954/55

Back Row L to R:-  Harold Elliott, Frank Dynes, Malcom Wright, T. Heaney.

Third Row:  Alfie Curran, J. Ewart, J. Elliott, Jackie McMahon, Joe Madill, Ronnie Baxter.

2nd. Row:  J. Carson, B. Montgomery, N. Best, Jimmy Croft (Capt). Eric Bailey, Robert Cartmill.

Front seated:  Tommy Moore, Sidney Donaldson.

Edgarstown F.C.

Back Row L to R: Raymond McConnell, Brian Holland, Sammy Chambers, Dessie Brown (goals) Ernie Martin, Joe Meldrum, Errol Taylor.

Four of the five in front row are: Charlie Nesbitt, Jackie Armstrong, Dennis Tedford, Dale Cochrane

Details to Follow photo B

Greenview F.C. 1912

Details to Follow photo C

Abbey Villa 1924-25

Back to Sub Menu

Back to Main Menu