Tunnel Area

Page 3

Old St. John's Church Drumcree 1905.

The Church building was demolished in the early 1980's in an unique way, more or less by hand, every stone, brick and artifact was mapped and numbered,  the original Church fabric, interior and exterior has been reconstructed in the Ulster Folk Park and Transport Museum near Belfast.   

The interior of St. John's Church, Drumcree, just before demolition.


1932 - Six lads in the old Tunnel bathing hole, part of the Corcrain river which runs behind the present Abicoil Spring  factory in Obins Street.  The lad most prominent and two thirds from the left is Peter Lawless from Curran Street.  Peter in adult life became a barber, he worked from his home in Francis Street.


McConville's in 1935. They are still going strong and are one of the few pubs in all of Ireland who can serve a proper Guinness.


Pat Judge, for many years Pat worked with the rose breeding department of Sam McGredy Royal Nurseries. This photo was taken during the sixties at the Chelsea Flower Show in London.  Notice the badge on Pat's blazer, this was the company crest, worn by all the show team and a fine lot they looked.


Six  workers at Sam McGredy Royal Nursery packing department.

Back row L to R:  ? Toye of Maghery -  John Conway of Derrytrasna - Harry Judge of Curran Street.

Front row:  Harry Creaney of Curran Street - Morris Hyde of Obins Street - Chris Harrison of John Street. 


A charabanc loaded up for a days outing to the seaside.  The photo was taken during the 1930's in West Street, Edgarstown, just outside where Ford's Café used to be.


Tunnel P1

Tunnel P2

Tunnel P3

Tunnel P4

Tunnel P5

Main Menu Page